June 29, 2013

  • When I Said, “Cute,” I Meant Professional, Of Course

    I told @roadlesstaken yesterday in a response to his comment that what I meant by “cute” is he has an amiable and even self-deprecating manner about him on the radio. Also, his sense of humor and his kind of…informal approach, I guess…makes him seem like the kind of guy you’d like to know in person. So I didn’t mean “cute” in the way people called me “cute,” back in my early days of lawyering…you know, in a condescending, belittling way, ha. As in, “she’s really cute, but do you think she can perform in the courtroom?” Or, “she’s so cute, I bet she won’t last a year before she’s having a baby and quitting her job.” HA.

    He has a good, thorough interviewing style as well, lest you think “cute” means ineffective.

    I had to drive back and forth to my mother’s last night to drop my kids off, a round trip of three hours. Then when I got home (alone! hallelujah!) I had to clean out the hamster cage and clean the house and other busy-work tasks. All this by way of excuses for spending several more hours listening to Alex interview Xangans. Last night I heard:

    @Edlives, The Big Show (remember Big Show? I really enjoyed his writing), @TheBlackSpiderman, @TheTheologiansCafe, @Seedsower and @SaintVi.

    One thing no one has mentioned on the show or on any posts that I’ve seen: in the Relaunch Xanga post, our Xanga God said, “I’m willing to work for free.”

    My question is: why? I find that very troubling. To me, a person who is willing to work for free is thinking about that particular endeavor as a sideline or hobby or extremely risky gamble that might or might not pay off. You know, as in, “don’t quit your day job.” I work for free all the time, but that’s because I work full time taking care of 3 kids, and I’m trying to save some contacts and places for later. This leads me to wonder, is the Xanga Team made up of people who have all moved to other, full-time jobs? Is the Xanga Team in the weeds with new babies (good Lord, I know how that is)? 

    @SaintVi made a comment about her belief that @Edlives took a lot of pressure off the team in re: communication with users by stepping up as a spokesperson. It’s her feeling that the small team is working as hard as they can and we should give them a break. I hear that, I do. But I’ll say this, too: it takes me about 20 minutes every morning as soon as I get up to knock off a quick post like this one. After that I shuttle my kids around, write appeals for felons, run my household. It just seems like communication could be a series of short, quick, reassuring bursts. I’m skeptical that it’s just not possible for someone who wants to run a business like Xanga to take these twenty minutes each morning, or once a week.

    Listening to all these interviews back-to-back is fascinating. I know I said that yesterday. But the diversity of opinions and feelings and motivations is striking. Everyone has his/her own point of view about what Xanga is, what it should be and what the ideal social-networking/blogging/creative network would be.

    Big Show and @TheBlackSpiderman exchanged some interesting comments about whether long-form blogging is part of the past and micro-blogging is the future. I’m a long-form blogger, obviously. WordPress turns out to be good for that, as Big Show says. But if Xanga is primarily about community, and community is a euphemism for social-networking, than perhaps micro-blogging, apps, and more of a Tumblr atmosphere makes sense.

    My regret after listening to all these people is maintaining my privacy to such a degree that I haven’t met many Xangans. I’ve met one, in fact. My husband and I live our lives in controversial positions because of his work and even mine, to a lesser extent. I mean, for every criminal you represent, there’s an angry victim. For every person you prosecute, there’s a devastated family. For this reason, I haven’t been inclined to go public with my identity. Years ago I nearly showed up at a Houston Xanga meet. I kinda regret not doing that. Listening to @SaintVi and @Seedsower talk about their meet-ups, and Alex talk about his, they all sound enriched by the experience of meeting other Xangans.

    Hearing Xangans talk about what Xanga means to them (and even hearing @christao408 calling it Z-awn-ga) has brought home to me that there isn’t really a bell curve of Xanga. Interviewed Xangans want more features, no features, less features, the same number of features; they want traffic or they don’t care about traffic; they love the community, they love their own particular friends, or they love their -ish site support; they want more photo options they want more long-form content they want more twitter-like comments. Xangans see Xanga as a social-networking site, a writing site, a diary site. They are all ages. They have all kinds of jobs, interests, positions.

    The last of my trip is described on my wordpress account. A word about wordpress, if you will: I find it has many of the same features as Xanga, called something slightly different, and many of the features Xangans wish they could have (like a Like button, for example). It is ideal for long-form blogging, in my opinion. Not any more ideal than Xanga has been, but not necessarily any less, either. I have not found other wordpress users, strangers, non-Xangans, to be any less open to contacts or connections than Xangans have been. It is much bigger, and without private messaging and pulse and a Featured front page (as opposed to the Freshly Pressed, Top Blog model, based on traffic), it could be quite a bit harder to build an audience and/or make new close friends. But take heart, Xangans. There are places to settle even if $60,000 doesn’t translate into the Xanga experience we’ve all grown to love.

    I hope you’ll mark my new blog in your bookmarks. Wait. That’s so laptop. So middle-aged. I hope you’ll visit me on your wordpress app from your iPad. If they have an app. Hm. Maybe I should check into that.

Comments (25)

  • I think Alex is cute, too. And by cute, I mean adorable eye candy.

  • @saintvi - now i am sorry i missed all these interviews. :)

  • I know there’s an app on the Android market.  I has it.  I’m pretty sure the Apple store has it, too.I’m still wondering what steps the Xanga team took before they asked its users for donations.  It really feels to me like they just said “Screw it, we’ll absolve ourselves of all responsibility and leave it to our users.  If it fails, it’s their fault.”I’ll probably be shutting my Xanga down in the next week or so.  The traffic here has really died since a lot of people have moved on to other platforms.

  • I don’t like WordPress all that much. Yet, at least. I’m well aware that sometimes I am resistant to change that I don’t want to happen, but I still don’t like it. I’m very particular about fonts and colors and there’s just… it’s very hard to customize. I spent about an hour looking for a WP theme that didn’t make me want to murder people, but apparently I still don’t like it all that much because I only ever posted one blog. Granted, I don’t feel comfortable posting personal stuff out in WordPress land, so if xanga does go down that will cut back a huge amount of my blogging. Which is kind of depressing me. I’ll get over it eventually, I’m sure, and I still do plan on keeping my WP blog in either case, but I’ve counted on this outlet for years and it’ll be rough if I suddenly find myself without it.

  • I’ve used WordPress in the past, and I think I’m going to revive it if I decide to continue to blog.  I liked it, and it has a lot of feature that I feel like Xanga should’ve been implementing over the past few years instead of doing whatever they’ve been doing.

  • I sort of look at it as a bailout. Which, you know, whatever. It could’ve been put in other terms: ‘xanga is a pay site now but we won’t be continuing at all if we don’t have enough subscribers.’  Would this have been different/better? Maybe not. But I think it would’ve come across as more honest because it would’ve been more honest. I don’t blame the team for trying to create a certain atmosphere, but if you attempt to manipulate people, even for good purposes, chances are that they’re going to feel manipulated. From that perspective, it wouldn’t be unfair to say that the rescue effort was botched. The deeper truth, though, is probably that the chances of doing anything that would save the patient were slim to none. Death is a natural part of every facet of life (including, probably, the online ones). I don’t see the point of holding on to something that is no longer viable. I’d rather mark its passing with appreciation and gratitude and move on with an optimistic spirit to the next phase.

  • Alex is very cute in the most positive possible way. His interview style is really natural, and he makes the conversation flow so smoothly that I’m often surprised when the shows are over. He’s also amazingly generous to give so much time and effort to helping Xanga. No matter what happens, I’ll always remember the shows he did, and it was amazing to hear people talking.As for the Xanga team, I don’t know. I’m willing to work for free if it is something I am passionate about, not because it’s a hobby. I’m doing some volunteer things now, not because it isn’t important, but because it is important, so important that I do it because I care. So that part I don’t agree with.I do agree, though, about the communication. I think some people are better communicators than others though. I’ve seen people say they take hours to write a blog, while for me it takes minutes, and I think maybe it’s not fair to expect it to be so easy for everybody. If Edlives really is speaking for Xanga, and I think he is, then maybe that is why it is playing out that way. It is generous of him too. So that doesn’t bother me so much. I think the Xanga team has taken a lot of criticism, but I think some of it has been unfair, and I appreciate much of what they’ve done. And it takes some guts to step up and say “we need help” so I give them credit for that.I enjoyed this post and you gave me a lot to think about.

  • @saintvi - ha…well, I can only see about 1/2 of him on the video player. But that 1/2 is cute, I agree. @promisesunshine - they’re all audio and linked on his site. It’s very interesting. @chronic_masticator - I hear you. For me, it feels like no matter whether I impute good intentions or bad, whether I assume the Xanga Team is fantastic or terrible, whatever I think might have happened, it’s all just speculation. I have so little actual information! I don’t do well in an informational vacuum. @randaness - are you uncomfortable posting personal stuff because you don’t have options for protected posting? Or…? I think if anything, I feel even more invisible than usual over at wordpress. I feel like it’s only my crowd of xangans who continue to read my blog over there. And even at that, it’s a more streamlined list than I had over here. @Super_Rob_of_the_Sky - I like wordpress, so far. It’s easy to use, I think. I haven’t figured it all out, but then I never figured all of Xanga’s features out either. @distractedbyzombies - yes, I feel like the message was a little confused. I’m already a paid member because I bought Lifetime back when the long-term Xanga users were talking about its inevitable demise. I wanted to be able to archive. I don’t regret that decision, but it does seem to me that just going to a paid model a while ago might have been an easier solution. @WrappedinWishes2 - thanks for your comments! Yes, I do volunteer work too. I just meant that my volunteer work, my work I do for free, is never my primary job. I mean, anyone who says, “I’ll work for free,” is doing something else for money so they can eat and pay the rent. Which is fine, of course. Just not quite the same as relaunching a small business you intend to grow as your main source of income…?? I guess??? I’m not sure. I’m doing a lot of speculating, unfortunately.

  • @ordinarybutloud - You knew about the archive feature this whole time?! I did not know about the archive feature. Not that I’m not glad I’m still here, but distractedbyzombies would’ve disappeared a couple of times over if I’d known about the archive feature. It just goes to prove, I should’ve gotten the guidebook!

  • Years ago I posed a general question on Xanga about how to copy/paste all my posts somehow, efficiently, in case I ever decided to shut down my site. Someone told me it comes with Premium. I waited around for a while mulling that over and then eventually I signed up for Lifetime. It was during one of the Lifetime sales, I think. I can’t remember. 

  • I think Alex cute too in that I mean I want him to be my little sex toy.

  • @distractedbyzombies - I forgot to hit reply when I replied to you. oops.

  • @TheTheologiansCafe - and sure, yeah, that’s another thing I could’ve meant when I said “cute.” I could feel the electricity between you during your guest spot on the radio show.

  • @ordinarybutloud - it’s a good thing, too. things are getting juicy. I posed that question. many, many friends posed that question. I never saw it answered. the inefficiency of shutdown saved many a xanga site. :D  

  • Thanks for the summarizations of several of my radio show thus far. Maybe you should be my official transcriber! I can pay you in eprops. I think I will definitely need to summarize my interview with John tomorrow if he indeed is able to answer many of those questions we all are thinking.Very flattered that you think I am a good host. I know I can still improve on a lot of things, but glad that people think it’s at least passable for now. Will you be tuning in live tomorrow?

  • @chronic_masticator - good question, I will ask John tomorrow about what steps they actually did before deciding in the donating route.

  • When John said he was willing to work for free in the first post regarding the relaunch, it was the first thing I brought up when many questioned the monetary amount for the fundraiser. It’s the barest of minimums to keep the site up with my “guesstimate.”As for frequent updates by the Xanga Team, I knew it would be unlikely. I’m glad Edlives is keeping us informed and rallying everyone. I liken it to my recruiting company. When I call their main number, the operator lists only a handful of extensions I can direct myself to. Whenever I get a hold of the Senior VP, he would suggest us meeting for lunch one of these days. Haven’t had lunch with him yet. But I totally get it. He’s busy. I take no offense.

  • @Roadlesstaken - hahahaha re: eprops. I should start giving out minis like crazy. don’t know why I haven’t been doing that. I bet I have five zillion credits. I will be happy to summarize your interview with John tomorrow. I definitely plan to listen live tomorrow, as long as life doesn’t get in the way, which happens sometimes. We buried a hamster today. So. Have to get a new one at some point tomorrow. You’re a good host, and I like that you have a line of questions you’ve asked all your disparate guests. It’s interesting to hear very different bloggers answering the same questions about their Xanga experiences. @StupidSystemus - yes, I can imagine several different scenarios which would make all the pieces fit together. I just don’t know which scenario is the correct one, because it’s all just me making stuff up in my head, hahaha. Speculation, in other words. I hear what you’re saying, though. I’ve been trying to reach someone at BP for three months now over a Medicare issue for my dad. So even giant corporations in no danger of failing have poor communications. :D

  • Yes, completely re: lack of updates. I mean, I don’t have kids or anything, but I do work full time and have other responsibilities (the cat counts!) and I still blog almost every day. Long, rambling entries without a purpose, but still. And I understand that for some people writing does not come easily, and that some blogs need to be planned out and outlined and words chosen far more carefully than I generally put into selecting them. But I sort of feel like, if you’re gong to run a BLOGGING site, you should have a fair idea of how to do it. And when you take into account that Xanga has pulses, which are glorified tweets and can’t possibly take hours to compose even if you’re typing them with your nose because you have no hands, it’s all the more frustrating. Even a “Hey thanks!” or “Current $ Raised vs. Total $ needed” tweet once a day or every other day would be more than we’re really getting now. The fact that edlives is doing that updating is awesome, but I fail to see why some official person couldn’t take five minutes from his or her busy schedule that doesn’t involve blogging to pulse something like that. The gesture would probably be a morale-booster, if nothing else.

  • They do have an iApp…sounds awkward out loud.

  • Yes, there’s a WordPress app. I installed it yesterday. It has crashed my phone several times. But other than that it’s okay.

  • Thanks, OBL, for giving the entire issue your usual serious perusal. I feel somehow derelict in not having anything novel to add. I’ve written a good 2000 posts here, discussing everything under the sun, for 8 years at least, and yet when it comes to composing either a requiem or an encouraging hope/word, I go into my too-familiar funeral mode, chanting silently “There’s nothing anyone can say to change a thing.”I will try to listen to some of the radio interviews though. I need shaken up, probably/JSBTW, a quick visit to your WP site was a sweet thing; it does seem like real life exists elsewhere in the universe.

  • @saintvi - He really is adorable, I would know, I hugged him in person!I would love to meet you sometime OBL,your user name alone made me want to meet you, I am similar, ordinary and a little loud.

  • Oh goodness! I had forgotten about The Big Show!! Whatever happened to him?!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *